Vickowski Garners IEF Scholarship

Vickowski Garners IEF Scholarship

 SOUTH HADLEY, Mass. – The Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA) has announced its recipients of the 2013 Intercollegiate Equestrian Foundation scholarships and Mount Holyoke College student-athlete Flynn Vickowski has been honored. The incoming senior was the lone recipient awarded for Zone 1, Region 3 and follows in a long tradition of MHC honorees.

Honorees are awarded their scholarships based on an application process, which asks them to speak to a number of different subjects. Among the topics are their experience and involvement with the IHSA, their future aspirations and the highlights of their careers thus far. The total value of the scholarship is $1,200 per individual selected.

Vickowski, who hails from Longmeadow, Mass., served as the captain of the varsity Hunt Seat equitation program during the 2012-13 season for the Lyons. Under her leadership, Mount Holyoke repeated as the Region 3 champions, the Zone 1 champions and also finished fourth at the IHSA National Championships.

Individually, Vickowski had a strong junior season, which featured 13 top-six finishes over eight shows. She won in Intermediate Fences at the Co-Hosted Show in March, while also producing second place finishes in Intermediate Flat and Intermediate Fences at Regionals and the first MHC Show of the season, respectively.

As a sophomore, the Longmeadow High School graduate had eight first-place finishes in 10 shows. Her top performance came during the MHC Show in November of 2011, where she won both Novice Flat and Novice Fences as the Lyons took home High Point Champion honors. That season also saw the team win Regionals, Zones and finish fourth at Nationals.

During Vickowski's first year, she recorded four victories and finished top-five in all her events over a seven show span. She won the Novice Flat at the Smith Show in October of 2010 and also took first in Novice Fences at the Amherst Show in November.

Vickowski's scholarship award marks the 12th Mount Holyoke rider to garner the honor since 2004. The previous recipients include Rebecca Hicks (2012), Jessica Law (2011, 2010), Belinda Wenke (2010), Mignon "Emme" Johnston (2009, 2008), Sara Royston (2005, 2004), Alicyn Roy (2005), Aileah Dorn (2005) and Anne Meade (2004).

Photo courtesy of Frank Poulin Sports Photography.