Riding Honored For Academic Achievement

Riding Honored For Academic Achievement

SOUTH HADLEY, Mass. – The Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA) recently announced its All-Academic recipients and 17 members of the Mount Holyoke College riding team were honored for their outstanding academic efforts. Additionally, six members of the MHC western team were also recognized.

The IHSA Academic Award recognizes riders who carry a strong grade point average with national honors. Those athletes with a 3.8 GPA or higher are First Team honorees, while those with 3.5 or better are on the Second Team.

Mount Holyoke saw a combined 15 riders earn First Team recognition. Those honored from the varsity hunt seat team included sophomore Allee Platanitis (Granville, Mass./Southwick-Tolland Regional), first year Anna Rzchowski (Madison, Wisc./West), senior Callie Calder (Manhattan, N.Y./United Nations International School), senior Claire Herlin (Austin, Texas/Westlake), sophomore Flora Fei (Shanghai, China/Shanghai), first year Illianna Termuehlen (Wauwatosa, Wisc./Brookfield East), first year Morgan Brachfeld (Washington, D.C./Home Schooled), senior Maddi Shortt (Eugene, Ore./South Eugene), senior Maura Zaldonis (West Granby, Conn./Loomis Chaffee School), first year Mollie Kowalchik (Loveland, Ohio/Loveland), sophomore Regina Brecha (Yellow Springs, Ohio/Yellow Springs) and first year Taryn Isenburg (Wilbraham, Mass./Minnechaug Regional).

Earning First Team honors from the Western squad were Bryanne Macdonald, Katelyn Storey and Madeline Ketley.

Hunt seat team riders on the Second Team included first year Wendy Ho (Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam/Thornton Academy), junior Callie Schultz (Ann Arbor, Mich./Rudolf Steiner), senior Emily Bessette (Portland, Maine/Waynflete School), first year Emily Holowczak (South Windsor, Conn./East Catholic) and junior Genevieve Couldwell (Salt Lake City, Utah/Rowland Hall St. Marks).

Also on the Second Team from Western was Misty Cameron, Jordan Lassonde and Stephanie Lewis.