Riding Finishes 7th at 2018 IHSA National Championships

Photo of Lyons senior riding captain Mollie Kowalchik after she earned Reserve Champion honors in the 2018 USEF/Cacchione Cup. She also earned the highest score in the Fences phase of the competition.

HARRISBURG, Pa. – Action at the 2018 Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA) National Championships at the Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex concluded on Saturday afternoon. The Lyons, who entered as the Zone 1, Region 3 Champions, finished in a tie for seventh overall amongst the field of 16 teams competing for this year's national title.

The Lyons opened the final day of action in solid fashion as assistant coach Tara Mathews rode in Alumni Equitation Over Fences. She put forth a strong ride, taking eighth overall in the class.

Next up, MHC returned to team action as senior Maddy Skrak (Albuquerque, N.M./Sandia Prep) competed in Collegiate Cup Open Equitation Over Fences. She had a score of 84 in her initial ride and was one of four riders called back for testing. Following the test, Skrak was pinned as the fourth rider in the class, giving the Lyons valuable points in the team standings.

Action then shifted to the USEF/Cacchione Cup as senior captain Mollie Kowalchik (Loveland, Ohio/Loveland), who was the top-point getting rider after Friday, joined the top 10 in the work-off event. She came out as the last of the 10 and had a strong effort. To open the awards, the was recognized as the top high score in the Fences stage on Friday. It all came down to the final two as Kowalchik was named the 2018 Reserve National Champion, taking second overall in one of the best placings by a Lyons rider in several years.

The day's events ended in Collegiate Cup Open Equitation on the Flat with sophomore Franny Eremeeva in action. In a highly competitive class, she posted eighth overall to conclude the competition for Mount Holyoke at this year's championships.

Skidmore College took home top honors at this year's event, followed by the Savannah College of Art & Design as the Reserve Champion. Stanford University took third, while fellow Zone 1 rival Boston University was fourth. Otterbein University rounded out the top five.