Wheaton Rallies Past Field Hockey, 3-1

Wheaton Rallies Past Field Hockey, 3-1

SOUTH HADLEY, Mass. (Oct. 2, 2010) – Using a balanced scoring attack, the Wheaton College field hockey team downed Mount Holyoke College 3-1 this afternoon at the Mount Holyoke Turf Field. With its seventh straight win, Wheaton remained perfect in New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) play.

Shara Robertson

Mount Holyoke jumped out to a 1-0 edge at the 7:53 mark, when junior forward Shara Robertson collected a rebound and ripped a shot past Wheaton goalkeeper Ellie Massengill from point blank range. It was her team leading eight tally of the season.

Wheaton took advantage of a penalty corner opportunity to knot things up in the 23rd minute. After drawing junior goalkeeper Katie Gibson off her line with their initial attempt, the guests grabbed the loose ball and fired a second shot toward the Mount Holyoke cage. Junior midfielder Tricia Chase was there for the defensive save, but the ensuing rebound was scooped up by first year forward Emily Chick, who proceeded to set up junior forward Emily Asack's fourth goal of the year.

Chick then used an assist from senior forward Jessica Strock to put Wheaton in front 2-1 at the 30:42 mark. It proved to be her second match winning goal of the fall.

The guests capitalized on another penalty corner chance just over 10 minutes into  the second stanza, when senior forward Margaux Bolte collected an injection from Stock at the top of the circle, took two steps toward the goal and rifled a shot past Gibson.

Wheaton finished with advantages in both shots (17-9) and penalty corners (10-5). Massengill posted three saves en route to her seventh win of the year. Meanwhile, Gibson turned away eight shots. Chase chipped in with a pair of defensive saves, while classmate Meredith Spencer-Blaetz added one.

Both squads will return to action on Tuesday. Mount Holyoke (4-4, 1-2 NEWMAC) will host Nichols College at 7:00 p.m., while Wheaton (9-2, 3-0 NEWMAC) will visit Wellesley College at 4:00 p.m.