Three Named to Field Hockey All-Conference Team

Three Named to Field Hockey All-Conference Team

SOUTH HADLEY, Mass. (Nov. 7, 2012) – The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Field Hockey All-Conference Teams were recently announced and Mount Holyoke College student-athletes Kirsten Kilburn, Angelica Pascual and Stephanie Pascual have all been recognized. Kilburn was selected to the league's First Team, while the Pascual sisters earned Second Team honors. It marks the first year-end honor for all three players.

A sophomore midfielder from North Branford, Conn., Kilburn started all 17 games for the Lyons, leading the team in assists (7), points (35), shots (96) and shots on goal (64).  In addition to two game-winning goals, she also recorded a defensive save. Among the highlights to her season was a four goal, one assist performance in a 9-1 conference victory over Smith.  

The former North Branford High School standout, who was a Lyon of the Week Award recipient earlier this season, has quickly become one of the best players in program history. Through 38 games, Kilburn has tallied 30 goals with 16 assists for 76 points. In addition to 221 shots, including 128 on goal, she has four game-winning tallies and seven defensive saves.

Among the all-time leaders dating back to 2004, Kilburn is the program leader in shots (5.82) and shots on goal (3.37) per game, while also ranking third all-time in points, goals, shots attempted and shots on goal. She is also fourth in game-winning goals and defensive saves.

Angelica Pascual, a senior forward from Lawrence, Mass., earned Second Team honors after starting all 17 games for MHC. She led the team in goals (15) and game-winning tallies (3), while finishing second overall in assists (4), points (34), shots (66) and shots on goal (54). Her season was highlighted by a five goal effort in a 6-0 conference win against Wheaton.  Her five tallies were a new single season record, while her 10 points tied the single game mark.

In her career, Pascual, who is also a standout player on the MHC basketball team, played in 50 games. She scored 21 goals and added eight assists for 50 points, while adding 94 shots, including 76 on goal. The Proctor Academy (N.H.) graduate also posted four game-winning tallies, which ranks fourth all-time in program history. She ranks eighth all-time in points and is sixth in goals and 10th in assists.

Stephanie Pascual, a senior defender and captain from Lawrence, Mass., was selected by the league's coaches after starting all 17 games for the Lyons in 2012. The squad's critical leader on defense, she led all MHC players in defensive saves with five. In addition to two goals and an assist, Pascual had 15 shots, including 12 on goal, with one game-winning marker. Highlighting her season was the game-winning goal and a two defensive save effort in a 2-1 victory over Nichols.

A former standout at Proctor Academy (N.H.), Pascual played in 73 career games, which ranks second all-time in program history. She tallied nine goals with five assists for 23 points during that time, adding 45 shots, including 29 on goal. Additionally, Pascual recorded four game-winning goals and went 6-for-8 on penalty strokes, which is currently tops among the program's all-time leaders.  

Mount Holyoke (7-10, 2-6 NEWMAC) appeared in its 11th straight NEWMAC Quarterfinal last week, falling at Wellesley to conclude its 2012 slate.


2012 NEWMAC All-Conference Teams and Awards

Athlete of the Year – Molly McShane, MIT

Rookie of the Year – Hannah Flesch, Wellesley

Coach of the Year – Julie Ryan, Babson

Tournament Most Outstanding Player – Maddy Wharton, MIT

Sportsmanship Award - Wellesley College


First Team All-Conference

Kayla Florence, Babson

Morgan Lockwood, Babson

Caroline Malone, Babson

Mel Melkonian, Clark

Erin Kenney, MIT

Molly McShane, MIT

Maddy Wharton, MIT

Kirsten Kilburn, Mount Holyoke

Kelly Gallo, Springfield

Nathalie Gruet, Wellesley

Emily Lewis, Wellesley


Second Team All-Conference

Kelly Walsh, Babson

Madeleine Lutts, Clark

Michelle Teplensky, MIT

Angelica Pascual, Mount Holyoke

Stephanie Pascual, Mount Holyoke

Allie Stein, Smith

Meg McHugh, Springfield

MK Murray, Springfield

Hannah Flesch, Wellesley

Sarah McNicholas, Wheaton

Becca Sharpe, WPI