Eight to be Inducted as Mount Holyoke Inaugural Athletics Hall of Fame Class

Eight to be Inducted as Mount Holyoke Inaugural Athletics Hall of Fame Class


SOUTH HADLEY, Mass. – The Mount Holyoke College Athletics Hall of Fame Selection Committee is proud to announce that seven individuals and one team have been chosen as the inaugural induction class into the Mount Holyoke Athletics Hall of Fame. The Class of 2013 consists of Ann Neuberger Aceves ’56, Alison Hersey Risch ’59, Mildred S. Howard, Harriet “Holly” Metcalf ’81, Imogene Opton Fish ’55, Amanda Salb ’99, Kellie Young ’93 and the 1985-86 Equestrian Team.

“This extraordinary group of athletes represents the rich legacy of women's athletics at Mount Holyoke.  Their stories reflect a remarkable history of audacious accomplishment,” said Director of Athletics Lori Hendricks.  “At times when women were discouraged from physical activity, MHC was reshaping the landscape of opportunity and encouraging students to redefine the boundaries of their physical limits.”

Aceves has become a well-known competitor at the Senior State and National Olympic Games over the past 24 years. A decorated swimmer, Aceves currently hold six senior state records in New Mexico and has gone on to win numerous medals in various events. Aceves has helped found and create numerous scholarships, while also serving Mount Holyoke from 1995-2000 as a member of the Board of Trustees.

Hersey Risch played on the United States Field Hockey Association touring team twice during her tenure at Mount Holyoke, including at trip to South Africa and another to Amsterdam during the second semester of her senior season. She went on to compete in lacrosse, joining the Boston Women’s Lacrosse Association.  As the captain of the United States Lacrosse Association team, Hersey Risch toured with the squad in England during 1962 and later in 1969 when she traveled with the Great Britain Pioneers Lacrosse Team to Australia and a number of other countries.

Howard served as the Chair of the Physical Education Department from 1927 until 1963. She helped reorganize the department and establish a long-range plan to improve and secure needed facilities at the College. Her efforts helped bring additional tennis courts, playing fields, bridal paths and a skating rink to fruition, while also playing an instrumental role in the College’s purchase of the Orchards Golf Course. It was Howard’s political skills and passion that helped the department get the funding needed to make physical education a required part of the overall college curriculum; a status physical education maintains to this day.

Metcalf was a six-time member of the U.S. National Rowing Team and won five World Championship and Olympic medals. At the 1984 Olympics, she captured the Gold Medal in the women's eight. Metcalf has coached extensively at the club, college, and national team levels, including at Mount Holyoke. Currently the head coach of MIT openweight women’s rowing team, Metcalf has earned a number of accolades over her career, including two USRowing Woman of the Year honors, as well as induction into the New England Women’s Sports Hall of Fame and the USRowing Hall of Fame.

Opton Fish transferred to Mount Holyoke as a sophomore and immediately made the headlines as she represented the United States at the 1952 Olympic Games in Olso, Norway as an alpine skier at just 19 years of age. A competitor in the women’s slalom event, she finished fifth overall. Opton Fish continued to compete during her remaining years at Mount Holyoke as a member of the International Ski Federation (IFS) and was ranked the top skier in the United States in 1954.

Salb became Mount Holyoke’s first-ever individual NCAA Champion in the shot put, winning the National title in 1998 and 1999. A two-sport athlete in track & field and basketball, she continues to hold several program records, including most rebounds (942) and the outdoor shot put. A true scholar-athlete, Salb went on to pursue and earn a number of degrees, becoming a large-animal veterinarian. She has worked all over the world and currently works in South Africa.

Young, who graduated in 1993 with a degree in politics and women’s studies, was a two-time All-Region and All-Conference selection in lacrosse. In addition to serving as the co-captain in her senior year, she also earned the Ruth C. Timm Award as the team's most outstanding player. Overall, Young earned nine varsity letters in four sports - lacrosse, soccer, softball and basketball. She now serves as the head coach of the lacrosse program at the University of Louisville, where she has helped guide her Cardinals squad to an overall record of 57-42 over the past seven seasons.

The 1985-86 Equestrian team was the first team to capture an IHSA National Championship title led by current head coach Carol “CJ” Law. Through adversity and personal tragedy, the team showed spirit and determination in establishing one of the top programs in the country. It was the hard work and strength of the team that helped bring prominence to the equestrian program at Mount Holyoke as several members from the first Championship team went on to help the program capture Reserve Champion the following year. The character of the 1985-86 squad set the foundation for the success of the program today.

Each former student-athlete and team will be inducted at Mount Holyoke's Inaugural Hall of Fame Banquet, which will be held during Family & Friends Weekend on October 19. Tickets for the induction ceremony are available for purchase through the Department of Athletics. To request a ticket application, contact Joan Perez by phone at (413) 538-2310 or via e-mail at jperez@mtholyoke.edu.