Rowing Concludes 2015-16 Season at NIRC Championships

Rowing Concludes 2015-16 Season at NIRC Championships

WORCESTER, Mass. - The Mount Holyoke College rowing team took to the water for the final time in 2015-16, competing at the National Invitational Rowing Championships, hosted on Lake Quinsigamond. The Lyons had boats in the varsity eight, second varsity eight and varsity four events in Sunday's action.

In the second varsity eight, the Lyons opened the day finishing fifth in their qualifying heat with a time of 8:49.158. The crew advanced to the Third Final where they placed fourth overall, crossing the line with a time of 7:48.232. Overall, MHC was 16th in the 2V8 event.

Comprising the second varsity eight crew was coxswain Kimberly Ho, Nicole Villacres (S), Julia Hecking (7), Sharlow Hitchcock (6), Claire Fahrner (5), Clare Zicari (4), Mira Kelly-Fair (3), Violet Gehr (2) and Kelly Chambers (B).

The varsity fours race saw the Lyons race in the first heat, finishing second overall with a time of 9:47.799. MHC had a solid effort, advancing to the Grand Final, but the boat was scratched before the championship event.

Powering the varsity four boat was coxswain Zoe Zelkowitz, Yihan Gao (S), Sriya Pradhan (3), Caroline Tripp (2), Rumi Handen (B).

For the varsity eight, they competed in the first heat to start out the day's events, crossing the finish with a time of 7:58.161. That mark advanced them to the Third Final, where they placed fourth overall with a mark of 7:19.735. The crew bested several other boats, including Coast Guard and St. Lawrence. Overall, the Lyons were 16th in the field of 21 total varsity eight boats.

Competing in the varsity eight was coxswain Leela Woody, Molly Lapointe (s), Eleanor Stewart (7), Rosalind Waltz-Peters (6), Ariya Lawson (5), Azulina Green (4), Elisabeth Scheemaker (3), Zandra Davis (2) and Meghan Ryan (B).

Cover photo courtesy of MHC rower and captain Chenyue Lu '16.