Rowing Finishes Strong at UMass's Hadley Chase

Action photo of the Lyons varsity eight boat on the Connecticut River.

HADLEY, Mass. – The Mount Holyoke College rowing team took to the water on Saturday, competing at UMass-Amherst's Annual Hadley Chase on the Connecticut River. The Lyons saw four boats in action, including a third-place finish by the novice eight crew in their race.

The novice eight posted a time of 18:28.2 on Saturday to take third. The Lyons crew finished behind race winner University of Connecticut and just behind second-place Marist College (18:23.4). MHC also bested boats from Fairfield (19:40.4) and Smith (20:04.4). In action for the novice eight was an all-rookie crew of Shoshi Daniels, Simran Kaur, Olivia Oats, Jocelyn Greer, Xena Ault, Jillian Currier, Amy Wang, Katherine Dailey and coxswain Jaya Nagarajan-Swenson.

In the varsity eight race, the Lyons took on some of the best Division I boats in the nation. Overall, MHC's boat crossed in a time of 16:48.2 – good for 13th overall. The race, which was won by Dartmouth, saw the Lyons place just behind Smith (16:36.2), but ahead of Coast Guard (16:49.3). The varsity eight was made up of sophomore Sabina Morris, junior Hannah LeBlanc, Kaur, rookie Audrey Shannon, Greer, senior Sharlow Hitchcock, Daniels and coxswain Zoe Zelkowitz.

The varsity four race saw the Lyons with two boats, which took 22nd and 27th overall. The boat crewed by first year Sarah Lancaster, sophomore Irina Mara, Hitchcock and sophomore Molly Aslin with coxswain Amelia Green earned 22nd after posting a time of 19:29.9. MHC's second boat, which featured sophomore Casey Roepke, rookie Elle Bukosky, sophomores Gabrielle Spano and Kate Dutilly, along with coxswain Ilana Goldin crossed with a time of 20:37.2, was 27th.

Also in action on the day for Mount Holyoke was the 2x pair of LeBlanc and Hazen, who finished second overall in a time of 18:37.4.

Mount Holyoke is now idle until October 28 when it travels to Boston and the Charles River to compete in the Seven Sisters Championship.