Rowing Takes Third at 2018 Seven Sisters Championship Regatta

Image of the Lyons rowing team on the water, also featuring the 2018 Seven Sisters Regatta logo, courtesy of Wellesley College.

BOSTON, Mass. – The Mount Holyoke College rowing team was back in the water for the final time this fall, participating in the 2018 Seven Sisters Championship Regatta, hosted by Wellesley College on the Charles River. Overall, the Lyons finished third in the field of five teams, aided by a number of strong performances.

Leading the way for MHC was the novice eight, which posted a time of 15:02.1 to claim victory in their race, besting two crews from Wellesley (15:22.4, 16:08.8), in addition to Smith (16:26.5), Simmons (17:27.8) and Bryn Mawr (19:02.5).

In the novice eight for Sunday's race was coxswain Jaya Nagarajan-Swenson, first year Shoshi Daniels (8), rookies Simran Kaur (7), Audrey Shannon (6), Jocelyn Greer (5), Elle Bukosky (4), Jillian Currier (3), Xena Ault (2) and Aya Sakonju (B).

Next up, the Lyons saw the second varsity eight take sixth overall in their race, notching a time of 16:53.0. Comprising the crew was coxswain Amelia Green, sophomore Kate Dutilly (8), rookies Katherine Dailey (7), Olivia Oats (6), Skylar Hou (5), Patty Bonilla (4), Isabelle Shepard (3), Clare Gabel (2) and Amy Wang (B).

Rounding out the efforts on the day was the varsity eight boat, which took fourth overall with a time of 14:55.6. The Lyons finished just behind Simmons in the event, who crossed in a time of 14:54.9. Powering that boat was coxswain Zoe Zelkowitz, rookie Sarah Lancaster (8), junior Hannah LeBlanc (7), senior Sharlow Hitchcock (6), sophomores Irina Mara (5) and Gabrielle Spano (4), junior Elizabeth Hazen (3), sophomore Casey Roepke (2) and Molly Aslin (B) – also a sophomore.

At the end of the event, three were named to the All-Seven Sisters Regatta Team, including LeBlanc and Hazen on varsity, with Greer named for novice.

Overall Wellesley took this year's title with 27 points. Smith was second with 25 points, followed by Mount Holyoke with 19, Simmons with 17 and Bryn Mawr with five points.