Rowing Concludes Season at the 2019 NIRC

Action photo of the Lyons rowing team on the Connecticut River.

WORCESTER, Mass. - The Mount Holyoke College rowing team concluded its 2018-19 season on Sunday afternoon, competing in the National Invitational Rowing Championship on Lake Quinsigamond. Amidst rainy conditions, the Lyons saw both boats advance to the Third Level Final of their respective races.

The Lyons second varsity eight boat opened action in the second heat of three, taking fifth overall with a time of 7:37.026. The group advanced to the Third Final as it battled against St. Lawrence, William Smith, Clark, Connecticut College and Simmons. MHC crossed the line in its final race with a time of 7:51.077, earning fourth overall ahead of Conn. College (8:01.469) and Simmons (8:04.709).
Mount Holyoke's second varsity eight boat featured first year coxswain Jaya Nagarajan-Swenson (Berkeley, Calif./Berkeley), junior Halee Mahoney (Ann Arbor, Mich./Pioneer), first year Shoshi Daniels (Rye, N.Y./Rye), senior Sharlow Hitchcock (Methuen, Mass./Methuen), first year Elle Bukosky (Trenton, N.J./Doane Academy), first year Katherine Dailey (Camden, Maine/Camden Hills Regional), first year Sarah Lancaster (Ann Arbor, Mich./Pioneer), first year Jillian Currier (Wakefield, N.H./Spaulding) and first year Amy Wang (Beijing, China/HS Affiliated to Remin Univ. of China RDFZ).

The varsity eight was next in action, competing in heat three of three with a time of 7:34.439 in a heat filled with competivie crews. The Lyons earned sixth overall to advance to the Third Level Final as well. Against UNH, St. Lawrence, Clark, RIT and Simmons, Mount Holyoke powered its way to second in the final. MHC posted a time of 7:13.591, finish just behind race-winner UNH (7:10.947).

In the varsity eight for the Lyons was senior coxswain Zoe Zelkowitz (Scarsdale, N.Y./Scarsdale), first year Simran Kaur (Hanover, N.H./Hanover), junior Hannah LeBlanc (Portland, Ore./Sunset), first year Jocelyn Greer (Glen Rock, N.J./Academy for Business & Finance), junior Elizabeth Hazen (Brookline, Mass./Brookline), sophomore Casey Roepke (Burlingame, Calif./Crystal Springs Uplands School), first year Xena Ault (Forest Park, Ill./Trinity), junior Lainie LaRonde (Manlius, N.Y./Fayetteville-Manlius) and first year Audrey Shannon (Milton, Ga./Cambridge).