Kilburn and Barrett Earn NEWMAC Lacrosse All-Conference Honors

Kilburn and Barrett Earn NEWMAC Lacrosse All-Conference Honors

2012 NEWMAC Lacrosse All-Conference

SOUTH HADLEY, Mass. (May 2, 2012) – Sophomore Annabel Barrett and first year Kirsten Kilburn were named to the NEWMAC Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Second Team after leading Mount Holyoke College to six wins in 2012.

As a team, the Lyons claimed the NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award for the third time in program history. They were also honored in 2007 and 2008.

Barrett was the cornerstone of Mount Holyoke's defensive unit, knocking down passes and taking charges throughout the season. Over the course of the year, she started all 14 games for the Lyons. Her 43 ground balls and 19 caused turnovers were both team highs, and she also secured a pair of draw controls.

The sophomore recorded five ground balls and three caused turnovers in Mount Holyoke's 17-11 triumph over MIT on March 31.

Kilburn made an immediate impact for the Lyons with her outstanding production from the midfield. In addition to pouring in 31 goals, she also collected 51 draw controls, 13 ground balls and nine caused turnovers.

The rookie was at her best in Mount Holyoke's dramatic 15-14 triumph over Roger Williams University on March 10. With the game on the line, she found the back of the net for what proved to be the winner in the waning seconds of regulation. It was her fourth tally of the day. She also piled up eight draw controls in the contest.

Kilburn followed that up with another four-goal performance in a 17-14 victory over Western New England University five days later. She finished the year with six hat tricks and two game-winning goals.

Mount Holyoke closed out the season with an overall record of 6-8 and a league mark of 1-5.

2012 NEWMAC All-Conference Teams and Award Winners

Athlete of the Year - Hailey Colburn, Wheaton
Rookie of the Year - Claire Canty, Wellesley
Coach of the Year - Emily Kiablick, Wheaton
Tournament Most Outstanding Player - Ellie Getchell, Springfield
Sportsmanship Award – Mount Holyoke

First Team All-Conference
Trisha Babson, Babson, A
Julie Baharestani, Babson, GK
Misha Beatty, Babson, A
Erin Daley, Babson, D
Jameson Spang, Babson, M
Kelly Gallo, Springfield, A
Meghan Flanagan, Springfield, M
Jackie Moscardelli, Springfield, M
Claire Canty, Wellesley, A
Hailey Colburn, Wheaton, A
Devon Soucier, Wheaton, D
Katie Powers, Wheaton, M

Second Team All-Conference
Colleen Mulligan, Babson, A
Katie Kauffman, MIT, M
Annabel Barrett, Mount Holyoke, D
Kristen Kilburn, Mount Holyoke, M
Mckenzie Hessel, Smith, M
Michelle Dorsey, Springfield, M
Kelly Foley, Springfield, D
Anne Versprille, Springfield, GK
Brit Mscisz, Wellesley, A
Allison Robbins, Wellesley, M
Charlotte DeSantis, Wheaton, A
Sydney Ferguson, Wheaton, M