Lacrosse Garners IWLCA Academic Honors

Lacrosse Garners IWLCA Academic Honors

Click for Complete Teams

SOUTH HADLEY, Mass. – The Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) has announced the Division III Academic Squads and Mount Holyoke College was named one of the 86 institutions to earn the distinction for the 2013 season. To be recognized, teams must have a collective grade point average of 3.0 or greater.

Individually, the Lyons saw senior defender Laura Chapman (San Francisco, Calif./University HS) named to the 2013 Academic Honor Roll. The 2013 NEWMAC Academic All-Conference selection was among 382 student-athletes from 67 institutions chosen for the Honor Roll.

Each individual honoree is nominated by their schools and have achieved at least junior status academically.

Under the direction of head coach Miriam Esber, the 2013 NEWMAC Coach of the Year, the Lyons tied the school record for wins with an overall mark of 13-4 this past season. Five players were named All-Conference, including three to the First Team. Additionally, the Lyons had the league's Rookie of the Year as well as the leading goal, assist and point scorers.

As a team, Mount Holyoke posted a grade point average of over 3.20. Eleven of Mount Holyoke's 16 student-athletes achieved a 3.00 GPA or better last season, while six had a grade point average of 3.3 or better.