Lacrosse Honored for Academic Excellence by IWLCA

Lacrosse Honored for Academic Excellence by IWLCA

Academic Honors (Team) / Academic Honor Roll (Individual)

SOUTH HADLEY, Mass. – The Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) has announced the Division III Academic Squads and Mount Holyoke College was named one of the 129 institutions to earn the distinction for the 2015 season. To be recognized, teams must have a collective grade point average of 3.0 or greater.

Individually, the Lyons saw seniors Samantha Rosado (Meriden, Conn./F.T. Maloney) and Hannah Yee (Amherst, Mass./Amherst) named to the 2015 Academic Honor Roll. Rosado, who was a defender, played in seven games for the Lyons last season. She posted three ground balls on the year. Yee, who played midfield, appeared in 15 games including nine as a starter. Additionally, she scooped up 18 ground balls, had four draw controls and caused five turnovers.

Each individual honoree is nominated by their schools and have achieved at least junior status academically. Both Rosado and Yee were 2015 NEWMAC Academic All-Conference selections.

Under the direction of head coach Miriam Esber, the Lyons returned to the conference playoffs in 2015, falling in the quarterfinals to Wellesley, 11-8. On the season, MHC posted victories over Westfield State, Bridgewater State, Concordia, Emerson, Coast Guard and Smith.