2009 Seven Sisters Swimming and Diving Championships: Day 2

Day 1 Story | Meet Statistics

POUGHKEEPSIE, N.Y. (Jan. 25, 2009) – Wellesley College earned its 12th consecutive Seven Sisters Swimming and Diving Championship this weekend at Vassar College’s Kresge Pool. The Blue won five of the 20 events en route to a total of 1069.5 points. They were followed by Vassar (980), Smith College (665), Mount Holyoke (521.5) and Bryn Mawr College (207).

The competition began with 13 events yesterday and concluded with seven more today. Vassar claimed top honors in 13 of the 20 events, but Wellesley’s depth proved to be the difference. Day two of the championship was highlighted by Vassar’s Emily Love, who established a new record in the 200-yard backstroke (2:09.91). It was the lone record breaking performance of the weekend. Ironically, she had previously established the top time in the event last winter. Love racked up four victories over the course of the championship.

Kate Sorenson captured top honors in the 3-meter diving competition to get things going for Wellesley. She won the event with an NCAA B qualifying score of 503.15 points. Alexis-Clair Roehrich of Smith placed second (379.10), and Mount Holyoke sophomore Kaitlin Mitchell took third (281.85).

Vassar started off the third swimming session with a win, as Charley Young won the 1,650-yard freestyle with a time of 18:37.94. Wellesley’s Emilie Mitten (19:18.89) and Melanie Kaplan (19:49.93) took second and third, respectively.

Wellesley’s Dana Dutton won the 100-yard freestyle in 56.44. She was followed by Lily Seidman of Smith (57.20) and first year Lydia Bowers of Mount Holyoke (57.40).

Vassar’s Caroline Shannon earned her third individual win of the weekend in the 200-yard backstroke. She touched the wall in 2:34.12. Teammate Allison Koenker finished second (2:36.11), and Wellesley’s Sabrina Maisel nabbed third (2:41.45).

Seidman posted a winning time of 2:18.49 in the 200-yard butterfly, which was the final individual event of the weekend. Vassar’s Young placed second (2:19.84).

The championship concluded with the 400-yard freestyle relay. Vassar’s ‘A’ team of Love, Samantha Jones, Megan McCarty and Jess Lentner picked up the win with a time of 3:48.23. The Brewers were followed by Mount Holyoke’s ‘A’ team of Bowers, first year Sarah Rooney, junior Lindsay Schonborn and senior Lisa Nash (3:54.68).

Mount Holyoke (2-3) will return to action on Saturday, when it visits Wellesley College at 1:00 p.m.