Araujo Named NEWMAC Women's Diving Coach of the Year

Araujo Named NEWMAC Women's Diving Coach of the Year

South Hadley, Mass. - March 3, 2020 - Following an impressive 2020 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Swimming and Diving Championships this past weekend, Mount Holyoke College's Rachael Araujo was selected as the NEWMAC Women's Diving Coach of the Year, announced on Tuesday afternoon by the league office.

Araujo is the first-ever diving coach at Mount Holyoke College to earn NEWMAC Coach of the Year honors. Additionally, this marks the second NEWMAC Coach of the Year for Mount Holyoke College during the 2019-20 season, as Chris Kibler earned NEWMAC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year honors this past fall. 

Under Araujo's leadership, it has been an impressive season for the Mount Holyoke College diving crew, which is led by senior Samantha Nemivant (Scottsdale, Ariz.), who was named the NEWMAC Women's Diver of the Week four times during the 2019-20 season. Nemivant's season has been highlighted thus far by an impressive performance on the three-meter board at the 2020 NEWMAC Swimming and Diving Championships, as the Chemistry major came in third overall with a final 11-dive score of 457.55. In the prelims, Nemivant posted a score of 473.25, which was just 2.95 off of her own school record of 476.20, which was established during the 2018 season. 

Following Nemivant was sophomore Kathryn Murphy (Fairport, N.Y.), who came on strong at the end of the season and delivered a fifth-place finish on the three-meter board at the 2020 NEWMAC Championships with a score of 439.60 on Friday, and followed it up with a fourth-place finish on the one-meter board, producing a score of 449.70. Junior Katie Kolozsvari (Danville, Ind.) was also impressive at the conference championships this past weekend, taking 10th on the one-meter board with a score of 388.25, and finishing eighth overall with a final mark of 417.85.

At this past weekend's NCAA Division III Northeast Diving Regional Championship, the trio of Nemivant, Murphy and Kolozsvari all placed in the Top 20 on both boards, as Nemivant led the way on the one-meter with a 13th-place finish, before Murphy posted a 10th-place finish on the three-meter board.

For the latest updates on Mount Holyoke College Athletics, follow the Lyons on social media on TwitterFacebook and Instagram.