Wellesley Wins 2013 Seven Sisters Volleyball Championship

Wellesley Wins 2013 Seven Sisters Volleyball Championship


SOUTH HADLEY, Mass. – Wellesley College won their 12th Seven Sisters Championship, including their third in the last five years as the Blue defeated Mount Holyoke College, 3-0 (25-12, 25-12, 25-14) to secure the title on Sunday afternoon. The Blue had a 3-0 record entering the final match of the weekend, but had secured its crown earlier in the day with a 3-1 win over this year's runner-up, Smith College.

The Pioneers took second overall with a 3-1 record, while Vassar College finished the weekend 2-2 to take home third place. The host Lyons finished fourth with a 1-3 mark, while Bryn Mawr College was fifth with an 0-4 record.

Ten players representing all five teams were honored as All-Seven Sisters. Earning MVP honors after leading the Blue to the title was junior Sydney Carfagno. She was joined on the All-Seven Sisters team with teammate Caitlin Laughlin along with Rosa Drummond and Paige Sarlandt from Smith; Gabby Miller and Taylor Mosley from Vassar; Emma Sweeting and Kaleen Iwema of Mount Holyoke; and Rachel Ofili and Samantha Abbott from Bryn Mawr.

The Seven Sisters Volleyball Tournament has been contested since 1983.

Vassar def. Mount Holyoke, 3-0 (25-17, 25-22, 26-24)

The Brewers turned the momentum after shouldering a pair of losses on day one. Led by Mosley's match-high nine kills, Vassar (14-11) pulled out the victory with the second and third sets coming down to the wire. Miller added eight kills and a game-best 18 assists, while first year Sierra Tobin chipped in with a match-high 13 digs. For Mount Holyoke (9-9), Sweeting had six kills, while first years Natalie Lyon and Athena Donta recorded 18 assists and 11 digs, respecitively.

Smith def. Bryn Mawr, 3-0 (25-16, 25-12, 25-11)

The Pioneers continued their winning ways in the first match of day two with a strong victory over the Owls. Drummond, who recorded her 1,000th career kill on day one, paced Smith (13-5) in the opener with a match-best 11 kills. Senior Bethany Ashworth recorded 16 assists, while first year Julie Voorhes had a match-high 25 digs. For Bryn Mawr (10-10), Ofili had nine kills and two blocks, while sophomore Zoe Holman chipped in a match-best 19 assists.

Wellesley def. Smith, 3-1 (21-25, 25-18, 25-18, 25-18)

It was a battle of the unbeaten in the eighth match of the tournament as both the Blue and the Pioneers entered the match with 3-0 records. Smith (13-6) opened with a strong showing, taking the first set, but Wellesley responded, paced by Carfagno's 19 kills to take the next three sets and the win. Senior Kellyn O'Brady added 11 kills and 11 digs for the Blue, while senior Hilary Ayers had a match-best 27 assists for Wellesley (21-2). The Pioneers saw Drummond record 17 kills, while Sarlandt added 15 kills. Senior Sonia Brown (45) and Voorhes (35) combined for 80 digs.

Vassar def. Bryn Mawr, 3-1 (19-25, 25-19, 25-22, 25-14)

The Brewers evened out their record in this year's tournament in the final match, defeating the Owls to finish with a 2-2 mark. Vassar (15-11) was led by Mosley, who had 18 kills over four sets. Senior Jessie Ditmore added 11 kills, while Miller finished with 31 assists. For Bryn Mawr (10-11), Abbott recorded a team-best 12 kills and Holman added 23 assists.

Wellesley def. Mount Holyoke, 3-0 (25-12, 25-12, 25-14)

The Blue sealed their 12th Seven Sisters Volleyball title in the final match of the day as they downed the host Lyons. Carfagno once again led the offensive effort, posting nine kills and adding 12 digs in the match. First year Taylor Jais added a match-best 18 digs, while Ayers chipped in with a match-high 13 assists for Wellesley (22-2). Mount Holyoke (9-10) saw senior Martina Kneifel record eight kills, while Lyon had 12 assists and Iwema posted 10 digs.



Champion - Wellesley (4-0)

Runner-Up - Smith (3-1)

3rd Place - Vassar (2-2)

4th Place - Mount Holyoke (1-3)

5th Place - Bryn Mawr (0-4)



MVP - Sydney Carfagno - Wellesley

Caitlin Laughlin - Wellesley

Rosa Drummond - Smith

Paige Sarlandt - Smith

Taylor Mosley - Vassar

Gabby Miller - Vassar

Emma Sweeting - Mount Holyoke

Kaleen Iwema - Mount Holyoke

Sam Abbott - Bryn Mawr

Rachel Ofili - Bryn Mawr