Mount Holyoke Set to Host the 2013 Seven Sisters Volleyball Championship

Mount Holyoke Set to Host the 2013 Seven Sisters Volleyball Championship

Tournament Website

SOUTH HADLEY, Mass. – The 2013 Seven Sisters Volleyball Championship is slated to take place on the campus of Mount Holyoke College this weekend. Tournament action will kick off with five matches on Saturday and conclude with five more on Sunday. A total of five teams from the Seven Sisters schools are participating in the annual event.

This year’s championship includes Bryn Mawr College, Smith College, Vassar College and Wellesley College, in addition to Mount Holyoke College.

Now in its 29th year, the Seven Sisters Volleyball Championship has been won the most by Wellesley, which has 11 team titles and 10 runners-up titles to its credit. The host Lyons and the Pioneers of Smith each have five championship titles to their credit, while Vassar has won the event four times.

The Brewers enter this year’s tournament as the defending champions as Vassar posted a 4-0 record last year. Wellesley was the 2012 runner-up, going 3-1, followed by Bryn Mawr in third (2-2), Smith in fourth (1-3) and Mount Holyoke in fifth (0-4).

Over the course of the weekend, the Mount Holyoke Athletics Website will provide updated results and championship recaps.


Day 1 Schedule (Saturday, October 12)

10:00 a.m. – Mount Holyoke vs. Smith (Court 1)

12:30 p.m. – Smith vs. Vassar (Court 1)

12:30 p.m. – Bryn Mawr vs. Wellesley (Court 2)

3:00 p.m. – Mount Holyoke vs. Bryn Mawr (Court 1)

3:00 p.m. – Vassar vs. Wellesley (Court 2)


Day 2 Schedule (Sunday, October 13)

9:00 a.m. – Mount Holyoke vs. Vassar (Court 1)

9:00 a.m. – Bryn Mawr vs. Smith (Court 2)

11:30 a.m. – Smith vs. Wellesley (Court 1)

11:30 a.m. – Bryn Mawr vs. Vassar (Court 2)

2:00 p.m. – Mount Holyoke vs. Wellesley (Court 1)