Cross Country Places 10th at NEWMAC Championship

Action photo of Lyons cross country runner, Kayla Dillon

BOSTON, Mass. – The Mount Holyoke College cross country team was in action on Sunday, taking to the course at Franklin Park for the 2017 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Cross Country Championships. The Lyons placed 10th overall, while the overall meet was won by MIT for its 11th consecutive championship.

Leading the effort for the Lyons was junior Corrin Moss (Columbus, Ohio/Columbus Alternative), who finished 29th with a time of 19:57 on the 5k course. Her time at today's event marked her best ever finish on the Franklin Park course.

Classmate Emsie Cronin (Ledyard, Conn./Ledyard) ran a personal best time in today's championship, finishing 58th overall with a mark of 20:43, while first year Simone Jacob (San Francisco, Calif./San Francisco University HS) placed 68th overall in her first conference meet, crossing the line with a personal best mark of 21:02 on Sunday.

Sophomore Michelle Serrano (Los Angeles, Calif./West Adams Preparatory) finished 73rd overall with a course-best time of 21:21, while classmate Emma Raney (Palo Alto, Calif./Palo Alto) was 79th overall with her own course-best time of 21:28.

The Lyons saw sophomore Brigit Wolf (New Providence, N.J./Union County Magnet) crossed the line in a season's best time of 22:12 to place 105th overall, while senior Mia Barnes (Thornville, Ohio/Monteverde Friends School) also reached a season's best time at the NEWMAC race, finishing 11th with a mark of 22:21.

Sophomore Kayla Dillon (Great Barrington, Mass./Monument Mountain Regional) was 114th, earning a season's best time of 22:24 to finish just behind Barnes, while senior Julia Criscione (Bernardsville, N.J./Villa Walsh Academy) posted a season's best mark of 23:09 to take 124th overall.

Rounding out the action was sophomore Maya Sterett (Alexandria, Va./Washington-Lee) and junior Victoria Parrish (Pleasantville, N.Y./Buram Hills), who were 127th (23:20) and 133rd (24:18), respectively on the day.

This year's champions, MIT, were followed by WPI in second, Coast Guard Academy in third, Wellesley in fourth and Smith rounded out the top five.

The Lyons, who went out hard and strong in today's conference meet, will return to action on November 11th at the NCAA New England Regional Championships. This year's meet will take place at the University of Southern Maine with a 12pm start time.