Cross Country Finishes Fourth at Seven Sisters Championship

Photo of the 2018 Seven Sisters Cross Country All-Championship Team. Lyons runner Simone Jacob is featured in the back row, third from the left.

MEDIA, Pa. – Mount Holyoke College sophomore Simone Jacob finished 12th overall to lead the Lyons to a fourth-place finish at the 2018 Seven Sisters Cross Country Championship. The event, which was hosted by Bryn Mawr College at Rose Tree Park, saw Vassar College win this year's championship, taking six of the top ten spots. Individually, Wellesley's Grace Cowles took first place overall with a time of 23:06.

Jacob earned All-Seven Sisters Second Team honors after finishing 12th overall. She crossed the line in a time of 23:53.7. Lyons rookie Sydney Nash crossed the line in 22nd notching a time of 24:22.4, while senior captain Hannah Gershone powered her way to 26th on the afternoon, recording a time of 24:31.8. 

Classmate and fellow captain Corrin Moss was next to cross the finish for MHC, taking 31st with a time of 24:46.4, followed by rookie Sophia Gronbeck and sophomore Meryl Phair, who were 35th (25:01.8) and 36th (25:03.5), respectively. First year Sarah Hyde was 39th overall on the afternoon, crossing the finish in a time of 25:10.8, while rookie Jamie Day and senior Emsie Cronin were 41st (25:23.1) and 42nd (25:24.9), respectively.

Junior Michelle Serrano posted 48th overall with a time of 25:54.2 as rookies Sophia Anderson and Katie Milligan were 52nd (26:10.7) and 54th (26:16.1) on the day. Junior Emma Raney then crossed in a time of 26:26.7 to earn 57th, followed by classmate Brigit Wolf and rookies Sammi Craig and Natalie Rodman. The three were 60th (26:36.6), 61st (26:42.4) and 63rd (26:57.2), respectively.

Rookie Amanda Kearney crossed the line in 66th on the day, posting a time of 27:04.1. The field was rounded out by several other strong efforts as rookie Charlotte Lindblom, sophomore Olivia Wrobleski, senior Victoria Parrish and first year Molly Lukiwsky finished 79th (28:07.5), 81st (28:16.9), 82nd (28:25.4), and 83rd (28:29.7), respectively.

Today's result was the second-straight victory for Vassar at Seven Sisters and the third championship for the Brewers in this event since 2013. Cowles is the second Wellesley runner in as many years to take the individual title, after the Blue's Isabella King took first in 2017.

All-Seven Sisters Team

First Team

Grace Cowles, Wellesley (23:06.0)
Hannah Martin, Vassar (23:12.8)
Riley McMahon, St. Catherine (23:13.7)
Megan Horn, Vassar (23:19.1)
Maya Bradbury, Wellesley (23:24.3)
Karena Garcia, Smith (23:28.5)
Christiana Prater-Lee, Vassar (23:34.1)

Second Team

Cameron Daddis, Vassar (23:34.4)
Seneca Straub, Vassar (23:38.2)
Elise Matera, Vassar (23:41.3)
Frances Duncan, Smith (23:47.6)
Simone Jacob, Mount Holyoke (23:53.7)
Taylor Mahlandt, Wellesley (23:57.4)
Ava Shipman, Wellesley (23:58.0)

Team Scores

Vassar - 30
Wellesley - 49
Smith - 81
Mount Holyoke - 106
St. Catherine - 116
Bryn Mawr - 167

Photo of the All-Seven Sisters Teams courtesy of Bryn Mawr Athletic Communications