Riding Claims Fourth Place at IHSA National Championships

Riding Claims Fourth Place at IHSA National Championships

2012 Riding National Championships

RALEIGH, N.C. (May 5, 2012) – The Mount Holyoke College riding team rounded out its 2011-12 campaign with a fourth place finish at the IHSA National Championship Horse Show this weekend. A total of 15 teams from around the nation competed in the event, which was hosted by the Hunt Horse Complex.

St. Lawrence University amassed 31 points en route to the High Point Championship in the Collegiate Cup Hunter Seat Team Division. The Saints were followed by Skidmore College (24 points) and Brown University (17 points) in the top three. Meanwhile, Mount Holyoke secured fourth place with 16 points.

Rounding out the field were Centenary College (15), the Savannah College of Art and Design (13), Goucher College (9), Pennsylvania State University (9), Miami University (7), the University of Colorado (7), Virginia Intermont College (7), the University of Kentucky (7), St. Andrews College (7), Stanford University (5) and the University of Wisconsin (2).

Mount Holyoke was paced by first year Samantha Stone, who contributed seven points with her first place finished in the walk-trot-canter division. Sophomore Eleanor Maynard turned in a second place showing in the intermediate fences division. Meanwhile, first year Abby Raucher collected third place in the intermediate flat division.

Sophomore Alexa Lohrer (open fences – 8th place) and first year Madeline Shortt (novice flat – 9th place) also contributed points for the Lyons. Other participants in the team competition included junior So Jin Lee (walk-trot), first year Jessica Murray (novice fences) and first year Hannah Thornton (open flat).

Senior Margaret Swanson took part in the prestigious Cacchione Cup Class, finishing in 30th place overall with 65 points. She had previously been crowned High Point Rider for both Zone 1 and Zone 1, Region 3. Meanwhile, senior Rebecca Hicks (novice flat) and junior Paulina Erni (walk-trot) each represented the Lyons as individuals after earning Zone Championships in their respective divisions.