Field Hockey Garners Awards for Academic Excellence

SOUTH HADLEY, Mass. (March 7, 2007) - In an announcement made on February 20th, the 2006 Mount Holyoke College field hockey team was recognized for its academic prowess by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA). The Lyons were one of 101 Division III institutions to receive the 2006 Collegiate National Academic Team Award for having a combined GPA of 3.0 or above during the fall semester of the 2006-07 academic year.

Six individual MHC field hockey players were named to the 2006 Division III Collegiate National Academic Squad for achieving a minumum cumulative GPA of 3.30 through the fall semester of the 2006-07 academic year. The NFHCA honored the following members of the Lyons' squad for their academic excellance: Claire Emery '08, Shannon Graham '07, Whitney Howland '10, Lindsay Kurahara '07, Ali MacFadden '10, and Carolyn Sass '07.