Three Lyons Earn NEWMAC Field Hockey Awards

BABSON PARK, Mass. (Nov. 12, 2008) - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) recently announced its women's field hockey award winners for the 2008 season. Jane Kelleher of Springfield College earned the Athlete of the Year Award for the Conference, while Mount Holyoke College first year Shara Robertson claimed NEWMAC Rookie of the Year honors. Springfield's Melissa Rogers was named the Coach of the Year after leading her squad to both the regular season and tournament titles. Clark University received the Sportsmanship Award. In addition to Robertson, senior Anne Doton and junior Mary Kate Switchenko were also recognized by the NEWMAC. Doton was placed on the All-Conference First Team, and Switchenko was named to the All-Conference Second Team.

Robertson became the second player in program history to claim NEWMAC Rookie of the Year accolades. The first was Amy Gimbel, who was honored in 1999. She made immediate impact on the Mount Holyoke program during her first season, racking up 25 points from the forward position. Her 11 goals were a team best, and she also collected three assists. Two of her tallies went down as match winners. Robertson accumulated a season high nine points on four goals and an assist in the Lyons record breaking 16-1 triumph over Elms College (9/29). Her point and goal totals both tied previous school records held by Bridget Gunn and Krista Lindquist, respectively. She posted two goals in wins over Simmons College (9/13) and Western New England College (9/23). Robertson played every minute of every match this fall. The forward served as Mount Holyoke's injector on corners, carried the ball up the left side effectively all season long and provided the Lyons with outstanding defense.

No stranger to postseason recognition, Doton grabbed NEWMAC All-Conference honors for the second year in a row. She was placed on the First Team this season after claiming Second Team accolades last fall. Earlier this fall, she was selected to represent Mount Holyoke at the 2008 National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Division III Senior All-Star Game. The captain started all 16 matches at the midfield position. Her 30 points, eight goals and 14 assists were all career bests. Doton exploded for a career high eight points against Elms. Her three goals were a career best, and she also added a pair of helpers. She dished out four assists in the Lyons 6-0 win over Simmons, and she totaled two goals and an assist in a 4-1 triumph over the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (10/25). Over her four year career, Doton appeared in and started 72 contests. In addition to serving as a captain this season, she was also a captain in 2007. She capped off her career with 60 points on 17 goals and 26 assists. Four of her tallies were match winners. As a junior, she was voted to the NFHCA New England East Region Second Team. She was also selected to the Seven Sisters All-Tournament Team in 2007.

Switchenko was voted to the NEWMAC All-Conference Second Team after an outstanding junior season. The forward finished the year with 24 points on ten goals and four helpers. She found the cage twice on three occasions. Switchenko registered match winners in the Lyons 2-0 win over Wheaton College (9/27) and their 2-0 victory over Clark University (10/21). Her great speed and relentless determination helped her draw countless penalty corners for Mount Holyoke. One of the team's best finishers in front of the cage, she became much more complete this year, as her defense led to more of her offensive chances.

Mount Holyoke posted a 9-7 overall record this fall, including a 4-4 mark in NEWMAC play. The Lyons season came to a close on Saturday, November 1 at Wellesley College, when they suffered a 4-1 setback versus the third seeded Blue in the Quarterfinal Round of the Conference Tournament.

2008 NEWMAC Women's Field Hockey Awards

Athlete of the Year - Jane Kelleher, Springfield
Rookie of the Year - Shara Robertson, Mount Holyoke
Coach of the Year - Melissa Rogers, Springfield
Sportsmanship Award - Clark University

First Team All-Conference
Colleen Kelly, Babson, M
Jessica Paladino, Babson, F
Anna Teruya, MIT, D
Annie Doton, Mount Holyoke, M
Phoebe Hopkins, Smith, M
Jane Kelleher, Springfield, M
Jill Urtz, Springfield, D
Emily Hewitt, Wellesley, GK
Callie Lekas, Wellesley, F
Katie Sang, Wellesley, M
Alisa Ardito, Wheaton, F

Second Team All-Conference
Kathryn Dawsey, Clark, GK
Alex Wright, MIT, D
MaryKate Switchenko, Mount Holyoke, F
Rebecca Capute, Smith, M
Meg Bradley, Springfield, D
Katherine McCarthy, Springfield, D
Katie Frett, Wellesley, M
Andrea Bagley, Wheaton, GK
Alex Block, Wheaton, M
Maggie Elbag, WPI, D
Nicole Maglione, WPI, F