NEWMAC Announces Fall Academic All-Conference Squads

SOUTH HADLEY, Mass. (Nov. 13, 2008) - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) recently announced its 2008 Fall Academic All-Conference Teams. Twenty-three Mount Holyoke College student-athletes were recognized for their achievements in their respective sports as well as in the classroom. Academic All-Conference Teams were selected for the sports of cross country, field hockey, soccer, tennis and volleyball.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2008 spring semester, achieved second year academic status at her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The NEWMAC consists of ten highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute. 

2008 NEWMAC Fall Academic All-Conference Team Selections

Rose Cantlin - Tennis
Ashley Fallon - Tennis
Elisa Frankel - Tennis
Natalie Hsiang - Tennis
Helena Jedziniak - Tennis
Sarah London - Tennis
Elise Marifian - Tennis
Elizabeth Tighe - Tennis
Kathryne Schwartz - Volleyball
Brenna Shepherd - Volleyball
Amanda Trask - Volleyball
Rebecca Adikes - Cross Country
Emma Angus - Cross Country
Rebecca Engell - Cross Country
Jessamyn Rising - Cross Country
Stephanie Sluyter - Cross Country
Siobhan Anderson - Field Hockey
Meredith Spencer-Blaetz - Field Hockey
Caitlin Sullivan-Gregory - Field Hockey
Stephanie Dunaj - Soccer
Katharine Kaftanski - Soccer
Lauren Orr - Soccer
Colleen Regal - Soccer