Soccer Racks Up NEWMAC Postseason Awards

BABSON PARK, Mass. (Nov. 12, 2008) - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) recently announced its women's soccer award winners for the 2008 season. Springfield College's Lauren Peltier was named Athlete of the Year for the Conference, while Mount Holyoke College first year Yuko Takahashi took home Rookie of the Year accolades. Both players were also placed on the NEWMAC All-Conference First Team. Springfield's John Gibson earned the Coach of the Year award after guiding the Pride to the Conference Championship. Meanwhile, Mount Holyoke received the league's Sportsmanship Award for the third year in a row.

Takahashi became the first Lyon in program history to earn the NEWMAC Rookie of the Year Award. The center midfielder made an immediate impact on the Mount Holyoke program this fall, recording 23 points on nine goals and five assists. She exploded for two goals and a helper in the Lyons 5-1 triumph over the Worcester Polytechnic Institute. Takahashi also found the net twice in a 3-0 win over Elms College. Her first tally of that match proved to be the winner.

Mount Holyoke rounded out its season with an overall record of 6-11-1 and a league mark of 3-6-0. The Lyons secured a spot in the NEWMAC Tournament for the first time since 2005. In the quarterfinal round, they played to a 1-1 deadlock with second seeded Wheaton College before being ousted in a penalty kick shootout.

2008 NEWMAC Women's Soccer Awards

Athlete of the Year - Lauren Peltier, Springfield
Rookie of the Year - Yuko Takahashi, Mount Holyoke
Coach of the Year - John Gibson, Springfield
Sportsmanship Award - Mount Holyoke College

First Team All-Conference
Jackie Graham, Babson, M
Stephanie Brenman, MIT, GK
Alisha Lussiez, MIT, F
Yuko Takahashi, Mount Holyoke, M
Delaney Cantrall, Springfield, D
Nicole Hanewich, Springfield, F
Lauren Peltier, Springfield, M
Kayla Thibeault, Springfield, D
Amanda Young, Wellesley, M
Emily Hough, Wheaton, F
Lyndsey McManus, Wheaton, D

Second Team All-Conference
Sam Bartman, Babson, D
Patty Pytlik, Babson, F
Joanna Clark, Clark, GK
Julia Rizzo, Clark, D
Katie Kurek, Coast Guard, F
Lauren Hernley, MIT, M
Etta Grover-Silva, Smith, D/M
Catherine Caruso, Wellesley, M/F
Melida Alvarez, Wheaton, F
Alessia Viscomi, Wheaton, D
Kristen Garza, WPI, F