Squash Begins 2008-09 Season at Maine Open

BRUNSWICK, Maine (Nov. 11, 2008) - The Mount Holyoke College squash team kicked off its 2008-09 campaign at the Maine Open at Bowdoin College over the weekend. A total of eight Lyons competed in the three day individual tournament. They each played at least three matches apiece and combined to post a record of 25-9.

Mount Holyoke got things going with seven victories on Friday night The Lyons top five players competed in the Women's A Draw, while numbers six through eight were placed in the Women's B Draw. Top seeded Pamela Anckermann received a first round bye, while third seeded Vidushi Gurunada blanked Sophie Runquist of Bates College 3-0. Laura Robinson picked up a 3-0 win over Anna Hogeland of Bates, and Laurian Lue Yen defeated Bowdoin College's Lizzy Warner 3-0. Shara Robertson fell to fourth seeded Elena Laird of Bowdoin 3-0. In the B Draw top seeded Kasia Kolodzieczak upended Isabel Nassief 3-0, Paulina Rojek edged Virginia Shippers 3-2, and Lila Khan topped Megan McFarland 3-0.

On Saturday, the team had another strong showing, accumulating a 12-4 mark. Anckermann downed Bowdoin's Alex Franceschi 3-0 and then knocked off Laird 3-0 in the semifinals to secure a spot in the championship match. Gurunada also advanced to the championship by way of a thrilling 3-2 semifinal triumph over second seeded Marilu Fortson. She previously moved on to the semifinals with a 3-0 win over Biz Gillespie of Bowdoin. Laird slipped past Robinson in another tight match that could have gone either way in the fifth game. Robinson moved to the consolation bracket as a result and knocked out Runquist with a 3-0 victory. Lue Yen fell 3-0 to Fortson in the quarterfinals. She then moved into the consolation bracket and took out Hogeland 3-0. Robertson rebounded from her Friday loss with a successful 3-0 victory over Margot Webel of Bates College. She then dropped a 3-2 decision to Gillespie in the consolation bracket quarterfinals. Kolodzieczak went 2-0 on Saturday to advance to the B Draw semifinals. She breezed past Aileen Tshiderer 3-0 and held off Emily Russell 3-1. On the other side of the bracket, Rojek dropped just one point en route to the semifinals. She earned 3-0 victories over Emily Kim and Dara-Lynn Pelenchatz. Lila Khan picked up her first win on Saturday, when her opponent, Laura Cyr defaulted. She later dropped a tough match to Katie Boyce 3-0.

Sunday was the final day of the tournament, and seven of Mount Holyoke's eight players were still competing. In the B Draw, Khan lost her consolation semifinal round match 3-0 to Margaret Chapman. She then rebounded to beat Emily Kim 3-0 to claim seventh place. Rojek fell 3-1 to Rhonda Lake in her semifinal contest and finished third/fourth overall. Kolodzieczak collected a 3-0 win over Boyce to advance to the B Draw Championship. She went on to defeat Lake 3-0 to secure top honors in the B Draw. Over the course, she dropped just one game in five matches.

In the A Draw, Lue Yen dropped a tough consolation semifinal match to Gillespie 3-1. She finished seventh/eighth. Robinson grabbed 3-0 wins over Franceschi and Gillespie to win the A Draw Consolation and finish fifth. Finally, Anckermann and Gurunada faced off in the Women's A Championship, and Anckermann won 3-0 to take the title. Mount Holyoke's first regular season match will be at Dartmouth College on Friday, November 21 at 6:00.

2008 Maine Open

Women's A Draw

Pamela Anckermann:
Round of 16: Bye
Quarterfinals: def. Alex Franceschi, 3-0 (9-3, 9-2, 9-0)
Semifinals: def. Elena Laird, 3-0 (10-8, 9-0, 9-2)
Championship: def. Vidushi Gurunada, 3-0 (9-6, 9-2, 9-1)

Vidushi Gurunada:
Round of 16: def. Sophie Runquist, 3-0 (9-0, 9-2, 9-2)
Quarterfinals: def. Biz Gillespie, 3-0 (9-3, 9-6, 9-7)
Semifinals: def. Marilu Fortson, 3-2 (7-9, 9-7, 4-9, 9-5, 9-5)
Championship: lost to Pamela Anckermann, 3-0 (9-6, 9-2, 9-1)

Laura Robinson:
Round of 16: def. Anna Hogeland, 3-0 (9-3, 9-2, 9-1)
Quarterfinals: lost to Elena Laird , 3-2 (1-9, 9-1, 9-2, 7-9, 9-5)
Consolation Quarterfinals: def. Sophie Runquist, 3-0 (9-3, 9-6, 9-3)
Consolation Semifinals: def. Alex Franceschi, 3-0
Consolation Championship: def. Biz Gillespie, 3-0

Laurian Lue Yen:
Round of 16: def. Lizzy Warner, 3-0 (9-4, 9-5, 9-1)
Quarterfinals: lost to Marilu Fortson, 3-0 (9-2, 9-2, 9-0)
Consolation Quarterfinals: def. Anna Hogeland (9-3, 9-5, 9-1)
Consolation Semifinals: lost to Biz Gillespie, 3-1

Shara Robertson:
Round of 16: lost to Elena Laird, 3-0 (9-1, 9-0, 9-1)
First Round Consolation: def. Margot Webel (9-7, 9-7, 9-6)
Consolation Quarterfinals: lost to Biz Gillespie (9-3, 9-3, 6-9, 5-9, 9-1)

Women's B Draw

Kasia Kolodzieczak:
Pool Play: def. Isabel Nassief, 3-0 (9-0, 9-0, 9-2)
Pool Play: def. Aileen Tshiderer, 3-0 (9-0, 9-0, 9-1)
Pool Play: def. Emily Russell, 3-1 (3-9, 9-1, 9-2, 9-0)
Semifinals: def. Katie Boyce, 3-0
Championship: def. Rhonda Lake, 3-0

Paulina Rojek:
Pool Play: def. Virginia Shippers, 3-2 (4-9, 9-7, 6-9, 9-5, 9-0)
Pool Play: def. Emily Kim, 3-0 (9-0, 9-1, 9-0)
Pool Play: def. Dara-Lynn Pelenchatz, 3-0 (9-0, 9-0, 9-0)
Semifinals: lost to Rhonda Lake, 3-1

Lila Khan:
Pool Play: def. Megan McFarland, 3-0 (9-3, 9-3, 10-8)
Pool Play: def. Laura Cyr by default
Pool Play: lost to Katie Boyce, 3-0 (9-3, 9-5, 9-2)
Consolation Semifinals: lost to Margaret Chapman, 3-0
7th/8th place: def. Emily Kim, 3-0 (9-4, 10-9, 9-0)