2008 NEWMAC Women's Tennis Tournament (Day 2)

Tournament Website

SOUTH HADLEY, Mass. (Oct. 26, 2008) - The top seeded Wellesley College women's tennis team defeated the second seeded Massachusetts Institute of Technology 5-3 in the 2008 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championship this afternoon at Mount Holyoke College. As a result of their fifth title in a row, the Blue secured a spot in the 2009 NCAA Division III National Tournament, which will be played in the spring. Wellesley cruised to a 5-0 triumph over fourth seeded Babson College in the Semifinal Round earlier today. MIT moved on to the title match by upending third seeded Wheaton College 5-2.

Wellesley College - 2008 NEWMAC Champs


#1 Wellesley College def. #2 MIT, 5-3

Match Statistics

Top seeded Wellesley and second seeded MIT met in the NEWMAC Championship for the fifth year in a row. Once again, the Blue came out on top, winning by a score of 5-3. The match was tightly contested from the outset. Wellesley took control of things early, as it won two of the three doubles matches. The Blue then sealed the title by securing wins in three of the six singles contests. Sophomore Shivani Saxena won at both singles and doubles for the champions.

Wellesley's second doubles pairing of first years Marie Watanabe and Grace Cheng got things going with an 8-3 triumph over junior Anisa McCree and sophomore Melissa Diskin. The Blue's second doubles point came from Saxena and classmate Jacqueline Shen, who downed seniors Yi Wang and Karina Pikhart 8-5 at the number three position.

MIT got on the board by way of an 8-4 win by its first doubles pairing of junior Leslie Hansen and first year Anastasia Vishneveysky. They defeated junior Mohona Siddique and senior Jennifer Schwarzkopf.

With the outcome of the match in the balance, Wellesley earned three of the six singles point to hold off a late charge by the Engineers. Siddique picked up a 6-0, 6-2 victory over first year Alex Hall at the number one slot to put Wellesley in front 3-1. A 6-2, 6-2 win by Saxena against Diskin in the number three contest extended the Blue's cushion to 4-1, but Yang upended Shen 6-1, 6-3 at the fourth spot to close the gap to 4-2. In the number one matchup, Hansen downed Watanabe 6-4, 6-1, making the score 4-3 in favor of Wellesley.

The Blue then sealed things, when Schwarzkopf finished off Vishneveysky in their number two tilt. Schwarzkopf was forced to second set tiebreaker before eventually prevailing by a score of 6-4, 7-6 (7-2).

Wellesley wrapped up its fall slate with an overall record of 9-2. The Blue also won the regular season title after posting a 7-0 mark versus league foes. MIT went 8-3 overall and 6-1 in Conference play.


#1 Wellesley College def. #4 Babson College, 5-0

Match Statistics

Top seeded Wellesley cruised to a 5-0 victory over fourth seeded Babson College in one semifinal matchup. The Blue swept the doubles matches and later added two singles wins to seal things. They were paced by first year Marie Watanabe and junior Mohona Siddique, who each picked up victories in their respective singles and doubles contests.

Wellesley got things going with three doubles triumphs. Siddique teamed with senior Jennifer Schwarzkopf at the number one slot. The duo downed Babson seniors Heather Walsh and Courtney Farrell 8-3. In the number two tilt, Watanabe and classmate Grace Cheng downed junior Jessica Huang and senior Kali Hogan 8-2. Rounding things out were sophomores Shivani Saxena and Jacqueline Shen, who picked up an 8-5 third doubles win over junior Liz Sheerin and first year Rebecca Stone.

On the singles side, the Blue grabbed two quick wins to put an end to the match. Watanabe breezed to a 6-0, 6-1 triumph over Farrell at the number one spot, while Siddique handed first year Auna Denson a 6-1, 6-0 setback at the sixth slot. The remaining singles contests went unfinished.

Babson rounded out its fall slate with an overall record of 5-6. The Beavers went 3-4 in league play.

#2 MIT def. #3 Wheaton College, 5-2

Match Statistics

On the other half of the draw, second seeded MIT secured its position in the NEWMAC Championship with a 5-2 triumph over third seeded Wheaton. Senior Yi Wang won at both singles and doubles to lead the way for the Engineers.

MIT earned victories in two of the three doubles contests to gain an early advantage. Wang paired up with classmate Karina Pikhart at the number three slot. The pair downed sophomore Ellen Van Faasen and senior Mallory Farmer 8-3 to get things going. Junior Anisa McCree and sophomore Melissa Diskin chipped in with an 8-4 win over first year Allesandra DiOrio and junior Katherine Knies in the number two contest. Wheaton got on the board by way of a number one doubles win by sophomores Sarah Geocaris and Catherine Teague, who edged junior Leslie Hansen and first year Anastasia Vishneveysky 8-6.

The Engineers tacked on three singles points to ice things. Vishnevetsky topped Teague 6-3, 6-1 at the number two spot, and Wang downed Van Faasen 6-2, 6-3 in the number four tilt. First year Alex Hall added a 6-0, 6-3 win over Farmer at the sixth position. Wheaton's lone singles win came from DiOrio, who took care of Diskin 6-3, 6-1 at the third slot. The remaining singles matches went unfinished.

Wheaton closed out its fall schedule with an overall record of 11-3. The Lyons went 5-2 in league play.