Cross Country Grabs Eighth Place at NEWMAC Championship

Complete Results

BOSTON, Mass. (Nov. 1, 2008) - The Mount Holyoke College women's cross country team grabbed eighth place at the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championship today at Franklin Park in Boston, Massachusetts. Leading the way for the Lyons was senior Jessamyn Rising, who took home 22nd place with a time of 19:59.86.

Twelve runners finished in the top 19 for the host Massachusetts Institute of Technology, which totaled 27 points en route to its second straight Conference title and fifth overall. Wheaton College (77) and Springfield College (87) collected second and third place finishes, respectively. Rounding out the field were Smith College (103), Wellesley College (105), the Worcester Polytechnic Institute (175), the Coast Guard Academy (180), Mount Holyoke (197), Babson College (275) and Clark University (280).

MIT's Jacqui Wentz completed the 5,000-meter course in 18:28.86 to capture Runner of the Year honors. Teammate Janice O'Brien crossed the line in 19:04.18 to secure the Rookie of the Year award. She finished eighth overall. Rounding out the top three were Lauren Reddy (18:41.08) of Wheaton and Amanda DiPaolo (18:51.53) of Springfield.

Sophomore Rebecca Engell was the Lyons second best finisher. She took 34th place with a time of 20:23.39. First years Allie Lane and Emily Follo also fared well for Mount Holyoke. They took 61st and 62nd places, respectively.

The Lyons will wrap up their 2008 slate on Saturday, November 15, when they compete in the NCAA Division III New England Regional Championship, hosted by Williams College.

2008 NEWMAC All-Conference Team
1. Jacqui Wentz, MIT, 18:28.86 (Runner of the Year)
2. Lauren Reddy, Wheaton, 18:41.08
3. Amanda DiPaolo, Springfield, 18:51.53
4. Nora Youngs, Smith, 18:54.32
5. Andrea Bradshaw, MIT, 18:59.38
6. Katherine Eve, MIT, 18:59.63
7. Maria Monks, MIT, 19:02.33
8. Janice O'Brien, MIT, 19:04.18 (Rookie of the Year)
9. Amanda Rawson, Wheaton, 19:10.42
10. Anna Holt-Gosselin, MIT, 19:14.10
11. Jennifer Doyle, MIT, 19:14.71
12. Lilian Calderwood, Wheaton, 19:16.88
13. Lacey Cartier, Springfield, 19:20.66
14. Elizabeth Finn, MIT, 19:21.57