Cross Country Earns NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award

BABSON PARK, Mass. (Nov. 7, 2008) - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) recently announced its women's cross country award winners for the 2008 season. For the second year in a row, Massachusetts Institute of Technology head coach Halston Taylor was named NEWMAC Coach of the Year. Last weekend, he led the Engineers to the Conference championship. Mount Holyoke College and Smith College shared the NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award. Jacqui Wentz of MIT earned the NEWMAC Runner of the Year award as the top overall finisher in last weekend's Conference Championship. Meanwhile, teammate Katherine Eve received Rookie of the Year honors as the top first year finisher in the race.

The Lyons will wrap up their 2008 slate on Saturday, November 15, when they compete in the NCAA Division III New England Regional Championship, hosted by Williams College.

2008 NEWMAC Women's Cross Country Awards

Runner of the Year - Jacqui Wentz, MIT
Rookie of the Year - Katherine Eve, MIT
Coach of the Year - Halston Taylor, MIT
Sportsmanship Award - Mount Holyoke College and Smith College

All-Conference Team
1. Jacqui Wentz, MIT, 18:28.86
2. Lauren Reddy, Wheaton, 18:41.08
3. Amanda DiPaolo, Springfield, 18:51.53
4. Nora Youngs, Smith, 18:54.32
5. Andrea Bradshaw, MIT, 18:59.38
6. Katherine Eve, MIT, 18:59.63
7. Maria Monks, MIT, 19:02.33
8. Janice O'Brien, MIT, 19:04.18
9. Amanda Rawson, Wheaton, 19:10.42
10. Anna Holt-Gosselin, MIT, 19:14.10
11. Jennifer Doyle, MIT, 19:14.71
12. Lilian Calderwood, Wheaton, 19:16.88
13. Lacey Cartier, Springfield, 19:20.66
14. Elizabeth Finn, MIT, 19:21.57