Crew Takes Title at Seven Sisters Regatta

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. (Oct. 26, 2008) - The Mount Holyoke College crew team claimed its second consecutive championship at the 22nd annual Seven Sisters Regatta today in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It was Lyons championship best eighth all-time title at the event, which was hosted by Bryn Mawr College on the historical Schuylkill River. They also came out on top in 2005, when the competition last occurred.

A total of five teams competed in the regatta. Mount Holyoke amassed 24 points to edge out Smith College, which grabbed second place with 20 points. Wellesley College (17), Simmons College (16) and Bryn Mawr (4) rounded out the field.

Senior Sarah Gray, along with sophomores Cleo Schneider and Elizabeth Bernal each represented Mount Holyoke on the All-Regatta Team. They were joined by Dara Benton (Smith), Allison Broadwater (Wellesley), Jen Debois (Simmons), Katherine Faigen (Bryn Mawr), Cari Snedecor (Wellesley) and Katherine vonHermann (Smith).

2008 Seven Sisters Crew All-Regatta

Mount Holyoke was paced by its varsity eight boat, which took home top honors in its race for the first time in six years. The Lyons defeated Wellesley by seven seconds, and Simmons rounded out the top three. Smith, which had won the race three times in a row prior to today, finished fourth.

In the junior varsity eights competition, Wellesley won its first Seven Sisters race since the interception of the race in 1989. Mount Holyoke took second, while Simmons and Smith finished third and fourth, respectively.

Smith held off two time defending winner Mount Holyoke in the novice eight race. Then, in the final event of the day, Smith narrowly defeated Simmons to win its fifth all-time second novice eight race. The Lyons took third, as reigning champion Wellesley finished fourth.

2008 Seven Sisters Crew varsity Eights

Overall Point standings
1. Mount Holyoke (24 points)
2. Smith (20)
3. Wellesley (17)
4. Simmons (16)
5. Bryn Mawr (4)

All-Regatta Team
Dara Benton - Smith
Liz Bernal - Mount Holyoke
Allison Broadwater - Wellesley
Jen Debois - Simmons
Katherine Faigen - Bryn Mawr
Sarah Gray - Mount Holyoke
Cleo Schneider - Mount Holyoke
Cari Snedecor - Wellesley
Katherine vonHermann - Smith

Results by Events

Varsity 8
1. Mount Holyoke (15:19.105)
2. Wellesley (15:26.775)
3. Simmons (15:40.406)
4. Smith (15:44.501)
5. Bryn Mawr (16:40.750)

Junior Varsity 8
1. Wellesley "A" (15:52.278)
2. Mt Holyoke "A" (15:55.958)
3. Simmons (16:13.012)
4. Smith (16:22.225)
Mount Holyoke B* (16:02.692)
Wellesley B* (17:26.183)

Novice 8
1. Smith (16:21.994)
2. Mount Holyoke (16:58.238)
3. Bryn Mawr (17:09.044)
4. Simmons (17:14.001)
5. Wellesley (17:41.798)

2nd Novice 8
1. Smith (16:54.101)
2. Simmons "A" (17:47.492)
3. Mount Holyoke (18:14.532)
4. Wellesley (18:44.102)
5. Bryn Mawr (21.00.326)
Simmons B* (20:30.563)

* non-scoring boat