Tennis Tandem Secures NEWMAC All-Conference Accolades

Tennis Tandem Secures NEWMAC All-Conference Accolades

Elise Marifian and Maya Sayarath SOUTH HADLEY, Mass. (Oct. 27, 2010) – The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) recently announced its women's tennis award winners for the 2010 season. After leading her team to the league championship over the weekend, Lynn Miller of Wheaton College was named NEWMAC Coach of the Year. Meanwhile, MIT first year Lauren Quisenberry took home NEWMAC Athlete of the Year and NEWMAC Rookie of the Year accolades following a perfect 7-0 regular season mark in league play. Clark University received the NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award for the second consecutive season.

Mount Holyoke's number three doubles tandem of senior Elise Marifian and first year Maya Sayarath were named to the NEWMAC All-Conference Second Team after sprinting to a 5-1 mark in league matches this fall. They were at their best down the stretch, when they won three straight times to help the Lyons secure their seventh straight trip to the NEWMAC Tournament. The duo recorded victories in their matches against Wellesley College (8-6), Smith College (8-2), Clark University (8-1), Wheaton (8-4) and Springfield College (9-7).

In addition to their success as a doubles team, both players were outstanding on the singles side of things. Marifian posted three dual match victories, while Sayarath racked up seven. The first year fell just once in league play.

Mount Holyoke closed out the fall portion of its 2010-11 slate with an overall record of 3-7. They went 3-4 versus NEWMAC foes.

2010 NEWMAC Women's Tennis Awards

Athlete of the Year – Lauren Quisenberry, MIT
Rookie of the Year – Lauren Quisenberry, MIT
Coach of the Year – Lynn Miller, Wheaton
Sportsmanship Award – Clark University

First Team All-Conference
#1 Singles – Lauren Quisenberry, MIT
#2 Singles – Sarah Geocaris, Wheaton
#3 Singles – Lyndsay Cooke, Wheaton
#4 Singles – Allesandra DiOrio, Wheaton
#5 Singles – Diana Granger, Wellesley
#6 Singles – Morgan Johnstonbaugh, Wellesley, Ellen Van Faasen, Wheaton
#1 Doubles – Sarah Geocaris & Catherine Teague, Wheaton
#2 Doubles – Lyndsay Cooke & Madison Hartley, Wheaton
#3 Doubles – Ellen Van Faasen & Allesandra DiOrio, Wheaton

Second Team All-Conference
#1 Singles – Catherine Teague, Wheaton
#2 Singles – Julia Hsu, MIT
#3 Singles – Nathalie Herman, Wellesley
#4 Singles – Monica Mercer, Babson
#5 Singles – Madison Hartley, Wheaton
#6 Singles – N/A
#1 Doubles – Lauren Quisenberry & Julia Hsu, MIT
#2 Doubles – Erica Choo & Kendall Tada, Wellesley
#3 Doubles – Maya Sayarath & Elise Marifian, Mount Holyoke

Wesleyan Trips Up Tennis
April 6, 2011 Wesleyan Trips Up Tennis
Tennis Cruises Past RPI
April 2, 2011 Tennis Cruises Past RPI
Simmons Holds Off Tennis, 6-3
September 30, 2010 Simmons Holds Off Tennis, 6-3
Tennis: Smith at Mount Holyoke
September 28, 2010 Tennis: Smith at Mount Holyoke
Tennis Sprints Past Smith, 7-2
September 28, 2010 Tennis Sprints Past Smith, 7-2
Babson Bests Tennis, 7-2
September 11, 2010 Babson Bests Tennis, 7-2
Tennis: Babson at Mount Holyoke
September 10, 2010 Tennis: Babson at Mount Holyoke