Volleyball Claims NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award For Fourth Straight Year

Volleyball Claims NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award For Fourth Straight Year

BABSON PARK, Mass. (Nov. 10, 2010) – The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) recently released its award winners for the 2010 season. For the fourth year in a row, Mount Holyoke College claimed the league's Sportsmanship Award. The Lyons also earned the honor in 2007, 2008 and 2009.

Springfield College's Joel Dearing was selected as the NEWMAC Coach of the Year after leading his squad to second regular season title in three years and their third overall. The Pride were paced by middle blocker Sarah Lang-Rodean, who took home NEWMAC Athlete of the Year honors. Middle hitter Kelsey DePorto secured NEWMAC Rookie of the Year accolades after helping the Coast Guard Academy to its second NEWMAC Tournament Championship over the weekend. The Bears were led by Tournament Most Outstanding Player Lauren Bloch.

Mount Holyoke closed out its 2010 campaign with an overall record of 9-16 and a league mark of 1-8.

2010 NEWMAC Women's Volleyball Al-Conference Teams and Award Winners

NEWMAC Athlete of the Year:
Sarah Lang-Rodean, Springfield

NEWMAC Rookie of the Year:
Kelsey DePorto, Coast Guard

NEWMAC Tournament Most Outstanding Player:
Lauren Bloch, Coast Guard

NEWMAC Coach of the Year:
Joel Dearing, Springfield

NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award:
Mount Holyoke College

NEWMAC First Team All-Conference:
Lauren Bloch, Coast Guard, RS/OH
Kelsey DePorto, Coast Guard, MH
Karen Matic, Coast Guard, S
Kelsea Hellyar, Springfield, S
Sarah Lang-Rodean, Springfield, MB
Lauren Torvi, Springfield, MB
Isabel Custodio, Wellesley, S/OPP

NEWMAC Second Team All-Conference:
Meg Flaherty, Babson, OH
Catherine Walker, Coast Guard, OH
Jenny Li, MIT, OH
Kelly Schulte, MIT, RS
Kim Giaquinto, Springfield, OPP
Tessa Smolinski, Springfield, OH
Elizabeth Campbell, Wellesley, OH

MIT Shuts Down Volleyball, 3-0
September 14, 2010 MIT Shuts Down Volleyball, 3-0